Nine Inch Nails Announce New Lineup and 2013 Tour

Nine Inch Nails returns with new tour and revamped lineup.

Trent Reznor has been busy lately. In addition to starting a new music streaming service, he’s working with his new band How To Destroy Angels and participating in The Sound City Players and the upcoming Queens Of The Stone Age album (both featuring Dave Grohl and Josh Homme).

To top it all off, he just announced that Nine Inch Nails are doing a new tour with a revamped lineup. And it’s a good one.

Bassist Eric Avery (Jane’s Addiction), guitarist Adrian Belew (King Crimson), and Josh Eustis of Telefon Tel Aviv will join Reznor and longtime collaborators Alessandro Cortini and Ilan Rubin.

Reznor released this press statement announcing the news:


Nine Inch Nails are touring this year.

I was working with Adrian Belew on some musical ideas, which led to some discussion on performing, which led to some beard-scratching, which (many steps later) led to the decision to re-think the idea of what Nine Inch Nails could be, and the idea of playing a show. Calls were made to some friends, lots of new ideas were discussed, and a show was booked — which led to another, which somehow led to a lot of shows.

The band is reinventing itself from scratch and will be comprised of Eric Avery, Adrian Belew, Alessandro Cortini, Josh Eustis, Ilan Rubin, and me. The first shows will begin this summer, followed by a full-on arena tour of the US this fall, and lots of other dates worldwide to follow through 2014.

Lots of details and dates to come. See you soon.


While Reznor fans wait for full tour details, they can satiate themselves with How To Destroy Angel’s new album “Welcome Oblivion” which will be released March 5th. They’ll be debuting the new material live at Coachella 2013.

Reznor has floated the idea that new Nine Inch Nails material is in the making as well, so fingers crossed it’s sooner than later.

About SLIS

Middle Aged Gen-Exer obsessed with Alternative rock, metal, cult movies, comic books and cable TV.

Follow Us

Follow Smells Like Infinite Sadness

, , , , , ,


  1. Listen to New Queens of The Stone Age Song: 'My God Is The Sun' | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - April 9, 2013

    […] well. It should for God’s sake, the album features a TON of quirky collaborators, including Trent Reznor, Elton John, Jake Sheers (Scissor Sisters), and Alex Turner (Arctic […]

  2. Kurt Cobain's Suicide 19 Years Later: A Somber Anniversary, Nirvana | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - April 14, 2013

    […] Cobain was still alive, I wonder how he would have matured. Would he have lightened up? Pulled a Trent Reznor, gotten healthy and put nihilism back on the shelf? Or would he have pushed darker and deeper, […]

  3. The Top 15 Lyricists in Alternative Rock, Jarvis Cocker, Morrissey | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - April 14, 2013

    […] *Click here to read about Nine Inch Nail’s return. […]

  4. Poll Results: Top 10 Alternative Rock Bassists, Best alt-rock bassists | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - April 23, 2013

    […] There’s a reason that Jane’s Addiction’s last two albums aren’t as popular as their early work, and that’s due to Avery’s absence. His lumbering yet melodic style is just as crucial to their song structure as Dave Navarro’s muscular riffing, and he’s sorely missed. Lucky for NIN though, as he has recently joined Reznor and co. […]

  5. An Interview with Tommy Victor of Prong | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - April 24, 2013

    […] Well, I worked on it…they used my amp.  They wanted my sound on it, I went down there and Trent Reznor (who produced) was like ;“what we’ll have you do is bring your amp on the plane and come down […]

  6. Queens of The Stone Age Play New Song 'Keep Your Eyes Peeled' Live | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - May 14, 2013

    […] and an impressive list of studio guests and returning musicians (Dave Grohl, Nick Oliveri, Trent Reznor, Alex Turner, Jake Shears, Mark Lanegan, Brody Dalle, and Elton John) that the expectations for the […]

  7. Nine Inch Nails Announce New Album, Trent Reznor reveals new NIN album | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - May 28, 2013

    […] Trent Reznor announced earlier this year that he was resurrecting Nine Inch Nails for a series of shows, fans were also hoping new music would follow. And now there’s […]

  8. Album Review: 'Sound City: Real to Reel', Various Artists soundtrack | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - June 1, 2013

    […] and Homme’s collaboration steps it up a notch when joined by NIN’s Trent Reznor on ‘Mantra.’ His vocals sound like a summation for all the Sound City veterans: […]

Leave a Reply