Album Review: Depeche Mode ‘Delta Machine’

‘Delta Machine’ Album Review: Depeche Mode add new elements to their patented sound, with mostly winning results.

Many Depeche Mode fans (myself included) have been pretty meh with their recent single Heaven. Too slack and straightforward, it doesn’t scratch the right itch. Therefore, I was worried their new album Delta Machine would be a dud.

Good thing then, that the majority of Delta has the dark grandeur that fans crave. And while it doesn’t reach the heights of  Violator (as primary songwriter Martin Gore claimed), it’s occasionally brilliant,  featuring some of their darkest and most experimental work since Black Celebration.

Opening track Welcome To My World starts with various bleeps and gurgles, continuing their long tradition of noisy album openers.

It smooths out when vocalist Dave Gahan emits his soulful croon, offering salvation/damnation simultaneously: I’ll penetrate your soul/I’ll bleed into your dreams/You’ll want to lose control…I’ll open endless skies and ride your broken wings/Welcome to my world.

Angel has a quantized sludgy slap, with Gahan channeling the sleazy preacher-man vibe of Nick Cave (click here for my review of the new Cave album): The angel of love was upon me/Oh Lord I felt so weak/I felt my tongue move in my mouth and I began to speak. It’s all gnarled noises and insistent beats, weaving wonderful dark textures.

Gore does his traditional torch song with A Child Inside. However, it’s a tad toothless compared to past efforts. Luckily  he adds his tenor vibrato throughout the album, creating those dual part harmonies with Gahan’s dusky baritone that remains crucial to their appeal.

The most left of center track is My Little Universe. The off-kilter rhythm and clinical self-examination brings to mind Kid-A era Radiohead: Those who know me say I’m growing every day…I take small steps/I’m making progress in a non-specific way. It’s one of their most unique compositions to date.

Slow takes a subdued page from the criminally underrated Ultra album, with Gore’s bluesy guitar work working a hypnotic spell.

Soft Touch/Raw Nerve  adds a muscular exoskeleton to their early 80’s synth-pop sound (perhaps stirred up by Gore’s recent VCMG side-project with founding member Vince Clarke?)  The up-front kraut-rock groove highlighted by a high-pitched squiggle is as dance floor ready as their biggest hits.

Broken is another retro track, equal parts A Question Of Time and Behind The Wheel. A cinematic minor key verse opens into a triumphant chorus : When you’re falling I will catch you, you don’t have to fall that hard. You can make it, I will be there, you were broken from the start.

*Speaking of cinematic electronic music, check out my Kavinski review.

Alone references their gothier aspects with all sorts of swirling, dark portent, escalating synth wails and percolating percussion.

Should Be Higher  has a breezy stomp, with Gahan pushing his voice to the breaking point in the chorus. Whether that was a wise move is another story. Best to have Gore nail the high notes. Regardless, it’s catchy as hell. It’s one of three songs penned by Gahan, showing his continued growth as a songwriter.

Soothe My Soul’s glam rock beat references Personal Jesus with an elastic, grainy guitar riff. This bluesy vibe extends to final track Goodbye, albeit more subdued.

The album was produced by Ben Hiller and mixed by Flood. This in large part explains its sonic identity. Flood took the reigns at their 90’s commercial peak, while Hiller has captained the ship for their past three albums. That it looks forward and backwards in equal measure, makes perfect sense.

While it may not scale the heights of their most iconic efforts, Delta Machine shows its creators are still willing to take chances, offering exciting new angles to their dark-electronic formula.

You can stream ‘Delta Machine‘ in it’s entirety on iTunes until it’s release on March 26th. You can also pre-order it from iTunes or Amazon via the links below.

[amazon_image id=”B00B69UQEO” link=”true” target=”_blank” size=”medium” ]Delta Machine (Deluxe Edition)[/amazon_image]

Get a great selection of Depeche Mode t-shirts, apparel and merchandise from, The Official Site of Rock Music.

Depeche Mode T-Shirts & Merchandise

About SLIS

Middle Aged Gen-Exer obsessed with Alternative rock, metal, cult movies, comic books and cable TV.

Follow Us

Follow Smells Like Infinite Sadness

, , , , ,

8 Responses to Album Review: Depeche Mode ‘Delta Machine’

  1. Keller March 22, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    This DM album is Epic! It deserves 5/6 stars. Much better than any of the new groups trying to follow in their footsteps.

    • SLIS March 22, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

      @Keller…agreed that DM are still as vital as ever and outperform all the copycats. But the good songs on ‘Delta’ are so impressive that it makes the lesser songs like ‘Heaven‘ seem too middle of the road. That’s the only reason it didn’t get 5 stars. All in all a really good album, and well worth the wait.

  2. Thomas Ellis April 5, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I have been mystified by the generally good response to Delta Machine. Somewhere, Alan Wilder must surely be smiling as this is quite possibly the lowest point – in my opinion, of course – in DM’s career. It almost makes Exciter seem like an exciting album. All the ridiculous faux-religious lyrics and Gahan’s “soulful” crooning are painful – not to mention the lack of any interesting hooks to speak of. To compare this album in any way, shape or form to Black Celebration – one of the greatest, if not THE greatest synth albums of all time – makes no sense. Again, I am apparently in the minority, though several of my friends who have also been listening to DM since 1981 are equally confounded. Ah, well.

    • SLIS April 6, 2013 at 1:09 am #


      I think there’s been a lot of polarizing responses to Delta Machine. It took me a few listens since I disliked the single, but its really grown on me.

      The last time I remember opinions being so split was on Ultra, but I love that one too.


  1. stream new Depeche Mode album Delta Machine, Delta Machine streaming | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - March 21, 2013

    […] And click here to read my review. […]

  2. The Best Rainy Day Playlist, Ultimate Alternative Rainy Day Mix-tape | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - July 19, 2013

    […] Depeche Mode’s But Not Tonight lyrics include, oh god its raining, but I’m not complaining. It’s one of their best B-sides too. […]

  3. Review: Depeche Mode at Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - September 19, 2013

    […] Click here for my Delta Machine Review […]

  4. Albums Revisited: Depeche Mode 'Ultra', DM's Underrated Ultra | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - September 25, 2013

    […] saw Depeche Mode in concert last week. The set list was varied (pulling largely from new album Delta Machine) and it was nice to hear Barrel of A Gun and Home. Both songs were from their 1997 album Ultra. […]

Leave a Reply