Bryan Ferry

New Bryan Ferry Album ‘Avonmore’ Set For November Release

Bryan Ferry surprises fans with new album announcement; ‘Avonmore’ due for November 2014 release.

Roxy Music frontman Bryan Ferry made a surprise announcement this week: he’s releasing a new album ‘Avonmore’ on November 17th.

The album, his first studio album since 2010’s ‘Olympia’ (not counting his jazz-excursion ‘The Jazz Age’), will be a star-studded affair, featuring former collaborators like guitarist Johnny Marr, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, and Chic’s Nile Rodgers. Other guest musicians include Dire Straits’ Mark Knopfler, saxophonist Maceo Parker and singer Ronnie Specter.

The album features eight original tracks, and as per his long standing tradition, a couple of covers. Those include Stephen Sondheim’s ‘Send In The Clowns’ (intriguing) and Robert Palmer’s ‘Johnny And Mary’.

Ferry marked the announcement with ‘Avonmore’s’ first single, entitled ‘Loop De Li‘, which you can stream via YouTube below. If you’re a longtime fan, it should please the ears. My first impressions are a hybrid of ‘Is Your Love Strong Enough’ and ‘Mamouna.’ And that’s a very good thing.

So take a listen to ‘Loop De Li’ and tells us your thoughts? Excited? Personally, I can’t wait to hear more and have a chance to review it. Ferry always takes a long while between albums, making a new one a special occurrence.

You can pre-order Bryan Ferry’s ‘Avonmore’ via Amazon and iTunes below:

[amazon_image id=”B00NOW9B8S” link=”true” target=”_blank” size=”medium” ]Avonmore[/amazon_image]

About SLIS

Middle Aged Gen-Exer obsessed with Alternative rock, metal, cult movies, comic books and cable TV.

Follow Us

Follow Smells Like Infinite Sadness

, , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply