Listen To New Alice In Chains Song ‘Stone’


Alice in Chains have just released their new single ‘Stone.’ It’s the second track they’ve released for their upcoming album ‘The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here.’ The album’s street date is May 28th.

Personally I like this better than the début single ‘Hollow.’ Mind you, there’s nothing radically different in their sound. It still sounds like the doom laden metal churn of all albums past. But given the dearth of melodic heavy music these days, I’ll take it.

UPDATED: Click here to read my review of the new album.

Unfortunately, the clip to the full song on YouTube has been taken down due to copyright issues. Take  a listen to the preview clip:

They’ve rolled out the new album’s details the past few weeks, including showcasing the album artwork. Apparently it has a subliminal image of a devil hovering behind a triceratops head.  Metal!

The clunky album title is curious for a band who normally has one word or short phrases for their back catalogue. Band leader Jerry Cantrell explained its meaning in a recent interview with metal mag Revolver:

“There are two things you never want to get into a conversation or argument about: politics and religion. But f–k, I guess we’re going to be talking about this for awhile. [laughs]”

He added: “Read a fuc–ng paper. What I’ve seen is the most basic message to most faith systems is in contradiction with how it gets applied. The human element seems to f–k it up. It seems to f–k up the basic truths of acceptance, loving your brother, helping each other out, not trying to kill each other or steal each other’s shit. Those are all pretty good ideas. And most of your major religions have those things as basic tenets of the belief system. It always amazes me that some of the most hateful and hurtful things are done in the name of some sort of belief system.”

It’s their second album featuring vocalist William Duvall, who replaced the late Layne Staley with their comeback album ‘Black Gives Way To Blue.’

So chime in below with your thoughts about ‘Stone.’ I’ll review the album in full upon its release.

And here’s the full track listing: for ‘The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here.’

1. ‘Voices’
2. ‘Low Ceiling’
3. ‘Stone’
4. ‘The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here’
5. ‘Hollow’
6. ‘Lab Monkey’
7. ‘Hung On A Hook’
8. ‘Pretty Done’
9. ‘Breath On A Window’
10. ‘Choke’
11. ‘Phantom Limb’

Buy Alice In Chains T-Shirts and Merch

 90’a alt-rock fans might also be interested in my review of the Sound City Players album, and news about the new QOTSA album.

About SLIS

Middle Aged Gen-Exer obsessed with Alternative rock, metal, cult movies, comic books and cable TV.

Follow Us

Follow Smells Like Infinite Sadness

, , , , , , ,


  1. Alice In Chains 'The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here' Review, Album review | Smells Like Infinite Sadness - May 29, 2013

    […] all is not lost. “Stone” is killer, with a slurred Black Sabbath-esque guitar stomp that rocks like all […]

Leave a Reply